Kevin Christopher Jegers won at Niitvälja – EstAm trophy stays in Estonia

Estonian Amateur Open by Tallink was played at Niitvälja Golf Club last weekend, 30 May – 1 June 2020. Due to the COVID-19 related restrictions, practically all the best golfers of the Baltic states were present. 78 players competed for World Amateur Golf Ranking (WAGR) points and their name on the challenge cup, passed on since 2004. 

In the men’s count, the winner came for the third time from Estonia. Kevin Christopher Jegers, representing Niitvälja Golf, enjoyed the home course advantage and finished the three-day competition with 78, 76 and 72 strokes (+10). Ken-Marten Soo (EGCC) came in second with 79, 79 and 73 strokes (+15). Richard Teder (Rae Golfiklubi) was third with 81, 79 and 77 strokes (+21). See the men’s results here.

In the women’s count, the winner was Gilė Bitė Starkutė (European Centre Golf Club) with 72, 72 and 70 strokes (-2), also the new record for women. The previous record, -1, was made at Niitvälja by Antonina-Leonie Eberhard in 2013. Starkutė, who played for the medal until the last day in last year’s European Championships, is currently number 237 in the world ranking. Katrīna Jana Gustafssone (Viesturi Golf Club) came in second with 78, 75 and 78 strokes (+15). Karola Soe (Saaremaa Golf & Country Club) took the third place with 75, 76 and 84 strokes (+19) being the first Estonian female player on the podium since 2012. See the women’s results here.

Last year’s number two Kevin Christopher Jegers stated that it is sweet to finally win the men’s count. “Today, I tried to play as safe as possible. I didn’t take too many risks, which ended in success,” said Jegers, moving on to a university in the USA this autumn.

There was no doubt about the women’s winner. The Lithuanian Starkutė triumphed all three days in a row. “I’m more than sure that I’ll be playing in Estonia again later this year,” she promised, content with her performance, the golf course, and the overall arrangement of the competition.

Text: Estonian Golf Association
Photos: Kadri Palta